Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Flexible

flex•i•ble [flek-suh-buhl] adjective


1. capable of being bent, usually without breaking; easily bent: a flexible ruler.

2. susceptible of modification or adaptation; adaptable: a flexible schedule.

3. willing or disposed to yield; pliable: a flexible personality.



Let’s discuss definition number 2. My understanding of this is – you can set a schedule within certain parameters – come in whenever you want as long as you are here by 10 and get your work done. Basically in by 10 and work your 8 hours or more if needed to get the job done.

My schedule the previous months was pretty much 9:30 – 5:30/6:00 depending on whether I took a lunch break or not – which I usually don’t. I would get “suggestions” around close that maybe I could get in earlier to help others out with close. Well – I started doing that and remembered why I used to come in early – it’s quiet in the office, I can get more done in the morning, and I can head home earlier and have some time in the evening to do stuff before bedtime. So I have started getting into the office between 7:00 – 7:30 – I’m still not taking lunch breaks so I have been leaving at 3:30/4:00 – getting my 8 hours in and getting my work done. Now I feel like I am getting “suggestions” that 3:30/4:00 is awfully early to be leaving. There are other people in the office who have worked this early schedule and there has never been a problem.

So – back to the definition of flexible. I think we need to add one more description:

4. Modification of schedule as long as you are in the office from 8:00 – 5:00.



De

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Twilight Saga

I went to the Twilight Saga Marathon – all 5 movies in one day – it was so much fun and the new movie was AMAZING!!


I thought there would be more people at the marathon than there was – the theater was only about 1/3 full. Maybe because it was on a Thursday (school day) not many kids could go. This was fine by me – we got good seats and were able to have no one sitting right next to us. It was like our own little community – everyone that was there was a diehard Twilight Fan – so no one made fun of my Forks High School sweatshirt with the name Cullen on the back!

There was intermission between the movies so you could stretch, go to the bathroom, refill your soda and popcorn. At the beginning of each movie they had a filmed segment with the actors that played Rosalie, Jasper, and Esme talking about their experiences filming the movie that was coming up. Interesting facts from Jasper – in New Moon he was wearing a wig which he referred to as the dead cat on his head. For Eclipse he had to go to horse training, even though he knew how to ride, for insurance purposes. He would spend his training time riding the horse on trails.

The final movie was very good – it was the perfect ending to the whole saga. There was a twist –and I won’t say what it was or when it is in the movie – I will just say that everyone that was in the theater was surprised and it made the whole movie very cool.

The whole weekend I felt like I had a Twilight Hangover – I am very addicted to the movies and the whole story – to go from everything Twilight to no Twilight and knowing it was over was tough. A good way to explain it is: Inability to start a new book/movie because you’re still living in the last book’s/movies world.

De

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Bright and Early

It’s been a week since I decided to try and get into work early and I am proud to say I have made it in every day before 8:00!! I was in today right at 7:00. I got my checks cut and my wires entered before anyone else from my department got into the office. I feel so accomplished.


Had a great weekend – spent Saturday catching up on DVR items and Sunday I drove up to La Connor and took my Dad to see the new James Bond movie for his birthday. The movie, Skyfall, was really good! Lots of action, good storyline, easy to follow. It was a lot of fun. After the movie we picked up Mom and went to the La Connor Brewery for dinner. They make these small hand-tossed pizzas cooked in a brick oven. Very tasty.

I am very excited for tomorrow – Twilight Marathon! Yes – L and I are going to Lincoln Cinemas to watch all of the Twilight Movies culminating in the debut of the final movie in the series. I can hardly wait! The first movie starts at 12:10 pm. I am thinking we will need to get to the theater around 10 – 10:30 to make sure we don’t get stuck sitting in the very front row. If I’m sitting in the movies for 12 hours I want comfortable seats. If we get there and there isn’t a big line – we can just go hang out in the Container Store for awhile.

I will be working from home on Friday – to sleep in a bit and L has a court date in the afternoon. Not sure how this is going to go – she still hasn’t done her alcohol evaluation so we may end up with yet another continuance. She is such a procrastinator – I’ve been known to put off some uncomfortable things but never for this long and not for something this important. I just have to keep reminding myself that she is an adult, this is all on her, and it is not mine to stress about. I have to remember to do that in regards to her medical bills too – she has put off calling places and trying to work out payment plans – and she has also put off getting in touch with DSHS to find out what assistance she can qualify for. Lots of growing to be done by both of us – I need to let go and she needs to start taking care of things on her own. We’ll get there!

De

Friday, November 9, 2012

Here I Am

So it has been a very long time since I wrote on here. There have been some changes in my life – I’ve been tired all the time – stuck in one of my low points. The low points are like a vicious cycle – I get depressed, start to forget my meds, makes me more depressed, makes me forget my meds more . . . see. . . . vicious cycle. I made great efforts this week to remember to take my meds everyday and it’s amazing how much better I feel. I’ve actually been able to get up with my alarm this week and get into work by 7 like I used to – which is great because I then get to leave while it’s still light outside. I had forgotten how much I enjoy getting in to work before everyone else does. Things are looking up.


So – the changes – there were 2 big ones during the summer.

1. L’s Dad moved back to Washington. It was a surprise to both L and I. One night there was a knock on my door and there he was! It took awhile for me to get used to seeing him in my house. But now, it’s not a big deal. He and L see each other on the weekends – they hang at the house sometimes. L is really happy to have him back in her life.

2. Labor Day Weekend we found out the L is pregnant! It was a shock to her as well as everyone else. An even bigger surprise was that she was already 3 months along! A few weeks ago she had an ultrasound and we found out she is having a . . . . . . . girl! I’m going to be a Grandma!

Now that I am feeling better and I seem to have some of my energy back I will probably start writing on here again! I will keep you updated on L and talk about random things – and I may even start posting some baking blogs – Yup, I am even feeling the energy and joy in baking again.



Glad to have me back!!

De

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Vacation - Yeah Right

I haven't posted because it's just been crap crap crap in my life lately. Work has been stressful - L was arrested - my finances suck! I took this past Thurs - Tues off to burn some vacation time and to try and relax - should have known that wasn't going to happen. Friday night L had 2 friends come over - ended up staying the night. Nothing like getting up in the morning to beer cans and an empty fifth of rum all over my living room not to mention the pile of cigarette butts all over my deck!! Plus 3 people passed out on the couch - so not relaxing.

In addition - there was the drama that happened in the middle of the night. L and her friend Shea were walking to QFC at 2:30 in the morning when some random guy on a bicycle started circling around them and calling them hood rats. Shea went to talk to the guy and put his hands out to show he had nothing - the guy jumped off his bike and hit Shea in the face with a rock which knocked him out - the biker then hit him while he was down then rode off. L was not injured - Shea was taken to the ER and ended up with a black eye, broken sinus bone, fractured skull, staples in the back of his head, and stitches over his eye.

Yesterday I was at the Big Fish Games Workshop - 3rd year I've gone. I had fun - was on my way home - receive a call from L letting me know that Shea was back and staying the night - again!! I told her we needed to talk - not that night but the next when Shea wasn't here. Well - guess what - L went to work today and hasn't come home yet. I texted her and she said she was in Fall City, didn't have to work tomorrow so she didn't think she'd be coming home. Guess we won't be having that talk.

She has been here for 2 months now to save money for a new place - in the 2 months she has given me $280, removed $40, and cost me $500 in bail money. She has said its because her paychecks haven't been as much as she thought - but oh - she has certainly had enough money for alcohol, cigarettes, marijuana, and partying with friends. I need her to go - I need my home back.

It's back to work tomorrow. I logged in and looked at my emails and I could feel the stress flowing through my veins. So much for being relaxed from vacation.

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Take A Breath

Taking a breather tonight - My mind/body/soul need some attention

  • Mind - Heading into Qtr End Close I always feel like my brain is too full and I am going to forget something.  This carries over into home life - did I unplug the curling iron, where are my keys, when was the last time I used my debit card . . . . . and what did I do with it afterwards. 
  • Body - I always have aches and pains - either age or just out of shape.  2 weeks ago we had a company wide Kickball Tournament - It's been about 40 years since I played Kickball - it was fun and I actually made it onto base 1 time!  We then partied at Havana afterwards - I am just too old for doing things like that - I think it took a whole week to recover!  
  • Soul - My Soul needs some sunshine!!  I know summer historically doesn't start in Seattle until July 5th - but we haven't really had much of a Spring this year.  I need some bright blue sky and sun.

De

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Horrible Middle School Children

Some of you may know that I enjoy listening to Talk Radio while I’m at work and/or driving home. I listen to KIRO 97.3. Today I was listening to The Dori Monson Show and he talked about a video/story that just broke my heart. The video shows a 60+ year old lady who is a bus monitor on a Middle School bus in New York. A group of Middle School kids, and yes one of them is taping this on their phone and posted it to YouTube, is verbally abusing this woman. The video is 10 minutes long – I only made it through the first minute – I just couldn’t believe what these kids were doing. I have tears in my eyes. If one of these kids was mine – they would not be able to sit down today. What has happened to this generation of kids? When I was growing up we were taught to respect our elders – I would never have talked to an adult the way these kids are. Is this what we get when we raise children in an environment where everyone “wins”, everything they do is “great”, no one fails? Is this the new world of children wanting to be “famous” for doing anything – the more YouTube hits the better! I am sure if this lady had stood up for herself and yelled at the kids, possibly even given them the smack they deserved, the parents would be suing her, the bus driver, and the school system. Because of course – their little angels didn’t deserve it – their little Johnny would never treat someone like that – it wasn’t my kid! What do you think about this video? What do you think should happen to these children? What would you do if it was your child?

If I could find this woman I would give her a big hug and tell her she's beautiful.

De




WARNING – The Language in This Video is NSFW (not safe for work)